a very bieber vbs

Now, I don’t keep up with church VBS materials and their markets.  As a matter of fact, I didn’t realize until recently (two days ago) that VBS curriculum is big business.*  Apparently, it’s very big business.  Let me tell you…”vast amounts of money can be made in the service of God Amighty.”**

It was Paul Wilkinson, on his blog (a good one, by the way, to which I’m subscribed), who informed me the sale of VBS materials is indeed big business.  I also learned from Paul that a lot of companies are creating these materials really heavy on entertainment and really light on Bible.  While I suppose this is a concern to me, it’s not why I’m writing this blog post.  Something MUCH more important is taking place.

Paul speaks highly of one particular company putting out VBS materials.  Concordia Publishing House has come to a firm and settled decision with regard to their VBS materials.  They will tell real Bible stories with real Bible characters, and focus on the gospel instead of on entertainment.  Here’s a quote:

Stores and churches will see the publisher’s VBS programs will no longer be set in locations that cannot be found in the Bible, stories will no longer feature characters outside of the Bible, all artwork will be realistic, and “wise-cracking animals” will not be the spokesmen for Concordia VBS themes.

Nope, the spokesman will be Justin Bieber in a mountain climbing outift:

BieberChurchVBS

Yeah, crazy huh?  I mean Concordia CAN TELL YOU they didn’t design this poster for the 2013 VBS series “Tell it on the Mountain” to look exactly like Justin Bieber belting out a song while being worshiped by one of his devoted teenage fans… but who are you going to believe?  

A company that sells VBS materials for $130 or me?

**********

But we shouldn’t be surprised.  After all, Justin Bieber is a type of King David.  At least that’s what I learned on these here internets.  Actually, “a type of King David” is not the way in which it was stated.  Rather, this very interesting article from On Pop Theology words it like this:  “Justin Bieber is King David reincarnated.”

I’ve apparently been away from the United States for too long.


 

* When I was a kid, my church didn’t buy VBS materials; we designed our own VBS curriculum.  Adults and older students would go to great lengths, many of them working for weeks, to create costumes, build sets, make videos, and prepare classes for the kids who would be at VBS.
** I should know; I’m a missionary in East Africa.  Actually this is a quote from one of my favorite movies.  10 points to the first reader to name the movie and character.  And 1 point for every (good) quote from this movie in the comments section (limit of 2 quotes per commenter).  I will be the judge of “good,” by the way.  My blog, my rules.
7 Comments

Filed under education, family, slightly humorous or amusing?

7 responses to “a very bieber vbs

  1. Alan Smith

    I believe that movie would be “O Brother, Where Art Thou?” For my bonus points (where do I cash these in?):

    Delmar O’Donnell: The preacher says all my sins is warshed away, including that Piggly Wiggly I knocked over in Yazoo.
    Ulysses Everett McGill: I thought you said you was innocent of those charges?
    Delmar O’Donnell: Well I was lyin’. And the preacher says that that sin’s been warshed away too!

    Oh, and if Justin Beiber is indeed King David reincarnated, you might want to stay away from the United States for quite a while longer! :)

  2. randy morgan

    you have been away from the u.s. too long. in fact, did you hear how the auburn football team reacted to your departure?

  3. Jason

    Tommy Johnson: I had to be up at that there crossroads last midnight, to sell my soul to the devil.
    Everett: Well, ain’t it a small world, spiritually speaking. Pete and Delmar just been baptized and saved. I guess I’m the only one that remains unaffiliated.
    Pete: I’ve always wondered, what’s the devil look like?
    Everett: Well, there are all manner of lesser imps and demons, Pete, but the great Satan hisself is red and scaly with a bifurcated tail, and he carries a hay fork.
    Tommy Johnson: Oh, no. No, sir. He’s white, as white as you folks, with empty eyes and a big hollow voice. He loves to travel around with a mean old hound. That’s right.

  4. Nic

    Sorry, what is/are vbs? Visual bible stories? I hate wise cracking animals in bible studies etc. my kids totally focus on that and lose any momentum on the story we had… I didn’t pick the movie but its a favourite, mainly cause of music. Will have to watch again and concentrate on the script. cheers !

Leave a Reply

