big plans…

I believe God has big plans for our team in Geita.  And that He has designated kingdom work for us to complete while in Africa.  And I believe He has plans for the lives of all of us who are called by His name.  And I am thrilled to think that I am going to be empowered by God to accomplish His work in the world…

I cannot chase God’s love away. 

But lately it has become even more thrilling to me that God’s love for me is so vast and so great that He will love me no more when I accomplish those acts of reclaiming a people for Him, than He already does.  And that even if I were to fail, even if I were to never win a soul for Him, even if no one’s life was made better by the work that we’ve set out to do, God would love me as much as He’s ever loved another human being.  I cannot chase His love away.  I cannot convince Him to care less about me.

I don’t have to succeed, excel, or accomplish in order to gain God’s acceptance or love.  Rather I operate out of the love God has for me.

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us.  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 8:37-39

 

1 Comment

Filed under musings on the Word

One response to “big plans…

  1. Ben Hargis

    Hey Brett, I’ve been reading your post for a while but have yet to have the time to post. Just to let you know that I have taken a lit of stock in them and will be posting on several more today. I always loved the bolded part of this post, i think you sent it in an email once? It gives me hope that I might one day be able to stop think about God in terms of results and impressing him. I forget that it is not about results nor on my shoulders. He is in control and over anything I could do, or screw up doing.

    Thanks man.

Leave a Reply

