a man who had no feet

The last few days have been uber busy.  In addition to the typical new parent tasks, I’ve been trying to get a Tanzanian birth certificate for baby Baylor.  You would not believe how many different hospital and government officials in as many offices I’ve had to meet with in the last two days.  It has been really busy.

‘I was sad because I had no shoes,
until I met a man who had no feet.’
Chinese proverb

Today, while in this involved state, I found it to be nearly 3:00 and I hadn’t eaten anything (those of you who know me can attest to just how rare this is).  As I was driving down the road, I was trying to figure out how in the world I was going to fit lunch into my list of things to do.  That’s when I saw the guy with no fingers — not a single digit on either hand.  He was begging on the side of the road, also wondering how, and from where, he was going to get his next meal.

I’d like to say I began thinking less about myself at that point — and I suppose I did for a few minutes.  But it wasn’t long before I was considering when the sun would set and whether or not I’d have time for an early evening run today, having missed it for the past several days.  That’s when I passed the legless beggar, half-dragging and half-bear-crawling his way slowly down the sidewalk.  And then it hit me….

I think about myself a lot.

I would venture to say, and I will say, that the root of all sin is selfishness.  Now, I don’t know for sure that this is true, but in the little time I’ve been thinking about it, I haven’t found an exception.  Thoughts?


4 Comments

Filed under just thinking

4 responses to “a man who had no feet

  1. I agree. I think the root of each sin is pride. It seems to have been at the heart of Adam & Eve’s sin in the garden, that root sin that plagues us all. I think we’re all guilty of thinking of ourselves too much. Thought-provoking post.

  2. Daniel

    The more time we spend thinking about ourselves the less time we are thinking about God and other people around us in need. Since God says that He will take care of us, it also shows a lack of trust in Him when we obsess about what we’re gonna eat. However, from birth we are concerned with nothing else but getting our next meal and we learn as we grow to think about others. So, considering that beginning and the fact that we do, in fact, have to feed ourselves, we can cut ourselves a little slack and pray that God will continue to transform us as we get older until we truly do love the Lord with all our heart and soul, mind and strength causing us to love others more than ourselves.

  3. Jason, good to know you have my back.

    Daniel, you bring up an excellent point — about our lack of trust being evident in our self-concern. And you sound like you know about this being selfish from birth thing firsthand. How’s the little one?

  4. Pingback: electric zanzibar and bacon « aliens and strangers

Leave a Reply

