blurring the lines

I’ve confessed my tendency to serve my goals, rather than allowing them to serve me.

I’ve established six areas in which I believe every Christian ought to be setting goals.

I’ve attempted to explain the difference between (and the importance of) goals, objectives, and strategies.

I’ve listed some of my strategies and goals for the year 2010.

And the last post in this series will serve as both a warning and an encouragement to me.  I have a proclivity to compartmentalize my life and its contents.  I think it’s a natural human tendency to carve life into manageable slices.  We like to build fences, which explains a lot about how we function in everyday life.

And I don’t think it’s all bad.  There are lots of reasons to do so.  I’ve established, and even promoted in this very series, six areas every Christian should consider when assessing life and setting goals.  But, at the same time, it can be a dangerous thing to fragment and compartmentalize my life.  If I can separate my relationship with God from my relationship with my family, if I can detach my mental health from my physical health, if I can clearly distinguish between my career and God’s calling on my life… then I’m failing to see the interconnectedness of life.  I’m likely refusing the Spirit entry into certain facets of my life and not allowing God to permeate to the core of who I am.  I may be distinguishing between what is spiritual and what is secular, ascribing to some form of dualism.  Next thing you know, I’ll be calling Sunday a holy day, going to a building I call church, and praying for the homeless without helping them…

But even the non-believer must allow his goals to overlap with one another in order to become a well-rounded individual, and to make wise use of his time.  

I ‘m not very good at this yet, but I’m trying to blur the lines between all the facets of my life.  After setting goals (and during the process), I’ve attempted to make it a point to allow (and in some cases, to force) overlap in all I seek to do in life.  And I think it a wise thing to consider.  But this is as far I’ve gotten:

  • I pray while I run.
  • I do two of my personal Bible studies a week in Swahili.
  • As soon as I get my tools off the container, I plan to ride my mountain bike most places I go.

Any advice on how better to keep from compartmentalizing, or other ideas on the subject?

3 Comments

Filed under goals and objectives

3 responses to “blurring the lines

  1. Pingback: how long will you sleep? « aliens and strangers

  2. Pingback: 2010: a preview | aliens and strangers

  3. Pingback: better than new year’s resolutions | aliens and strangers

Leave a Reply

