and number 8 in the category of dirty…

My daughter was born in the eighth filthiest city in the world!

NYC Partnership Consulting recently published their list of the 30 dirtiest cities on earth, and Dar es Salaam made the top ten!  In all fairness, though, the study compared only 245 of the world’s largest cities, so I wouldn’t dare call it thorough.  And not one Chinese city made the top 30?!  Come on… I lived there, and I don’t buy that.  Not for a second.  Have they seen the Yangtze River?!

Cities were ranked based on air pollution, potable water, waste, waste processing, infectious diseases, and quality of medical care available.  The regional commissioner for Dar es Salaam was quoted saying, “It is true and I accept that the city of Dar es Salaam is dirty, but I can’t say anything about international standards. I don’t know the criteria they used in their rating and therefore I’m not in a position to comment on that.”  I’m with this guy.  Dar es Salaam is dirty.  But any study that fails to award Wuhan, China, with a big, fat “dirty city ribbon” is not employing the proper criteria.

The 10 dirtiest cities follow, in order:

  1. Baku, Azerbaijan
  2. Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
  3. Mexico City, Mexico
  4. Buenos Aires, Argentina
  5. Antananarivo, Madagascar
  6. Dacca, Bangladesh
  7. Katmandu, Nepal
  8. Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
  9. Bangui, Central African Republic
  10. Lome,Togo

In similar news, I heard Knoxville is thinking about naming a sewage treatment plant after Lane Kiffin….

4 Comments

Filed under top ten lists

4 responses to “and number 8 in the category of dirty…

  1. I would recommend that Kville not name it after him. It will open with great fanfare, get dirtier and filter less as time moves on and then just up and quit and expect the people to pick up the (that “c” word).

  2. T

    Love the jabs at knoxville

  3. Dylan Hagewood

    haha knoxville joke was good. Did you get my email

  4. Glad you enjoyed this piece of news. I enjoyed your last post about encouraging missionaries. Even though I am new to the missionary lifestyle, I thought it was helpful. Between you and Austin, I think you both lost about 30 lbs from your sicknesses. Relieved to hear you are healthy again.

Leave a Reply

