a mother’s response to the ground zero controversy

THAT’S IT!  I. have. had. E…NOUGH!  I’m sick and tired of you two arguing all the time.  You boys are entirely too old to be acting like this.

Islam, you’re 1400 years old and should know better than to wittingly aggravate your brother like this; and your “This is not actually Ground Zero — I’m not touching, I’m not touching” routine is not going to cut it this time, mister.

And you, Christianity, I can’t believe I’m listening to a 2000 year old whine and cry about where someone else wants to play with his toys.  This is a shared house, and what do you think gives YOU the right to control where everybody else goes and what they do there?!

I don’t know why you two can’t be more like your older brother, Judaism, and quietly mind your own business.  And I do mean business.  Have you seen Jud’s lemonade stand?  He’s making a killing right there in our own front yard — and no one’s being made angry in the process.

And, no, WE WILL NOT be drawing a line down the middle of the room.  We didn’t do that in the 1860’s with North and South, and we’re for sure not doing it with you.  You boys are just gonna’ have to learn to share.  And if you two don’t start playing well together, then no one — and I mean NO ONE — gets a place of worship!  Not at Ground Zero or anywhere else.

Now hug and go to your room.  There will be absolutely no Xbox tonight, and I’d say you’re going to bed without any dinner, but — Islam, you must be starving; you haven’t eaten since sunrise.  I’ll send Judaism up with some Kosher foods after dark.  Until then, I want you two to think about what you’ve done, and how it reflects on who you are.


[For my thoughts on another controversy at ground zero, have a look see here.]
37 Comments

Filed under slightly humorous or amusing?, woe to us

37 responses to “a mother’s response to the ground zero controversy

  1. Mmmmmm, well, sorta. There’s a little more to it than this 🙂

    • admittedly, bernard, i’m somewhat out of the loop as far as current events and news go — or at least in a good position to be so. how have i oversimplified this mosque at ground zero stuff?

      • Sorry – didn’t mean to ignore your question; I messed up the “subscribe to comments” feature and didn’t get alerted.

        I’m not “up” on this either; I just know how it sits with my highly patriotic psyche.. 🙂 (That patriotism has nothing to do with my Christianity, those who incessantly insist that Christians need to reclaim America grate on my nerves a lot…)

        However. It is a known fact that Ground Zero exists because of Muslim extremist activity. Peaceful Muslims should be sensible enough to respect the fact that 3000 people died there because of the activity of their fellow Muslims. To even entertain the idea of establishing a worship center of any sort there that is dedicated to the very faith that caused it is simply insulting and unnecessary, and it ticks me off GREATLY that we even have to consider the question.

        What if a radical Baptist bombed an abortion clinic, blew it to smithereeens and killed 40 doctors, and then the local Baptist Association bought the property and built a Baptist church on the same property? It’s simply impossible to dream that there wouldn’t be tremendous political fallout and public sentiment.

        Now, for the Christians of America to make this a “Christian vs. Muslim” issue also upsets me, but the US Constitution puts the government in the uncomfortable position of not being able to pick which churches are allowed to build worship centers at a given location. If one church is allowed, basically, so must be another. They cannot choose one and disallow another just because of what they believe. So, while Christians would like to think that the government can throw out the Muslims but allow a Christian worship center in the same location, the very “religious freedom” that we enjoy in America does not allow that. Thus, the Christian faction that is opposed to this mosque has to resort to grassroots / guerrilla tactics (politically, not combat) in order to try to oppose this. They have to attack the officials that are governed by the very constitution that protects THEM.

        I interpret the desire to build a mosque there as extremely insulting. In a big sense I believe that we are indeed seeing the takeover of America by Muslim ideals and beliefs, and I see it as eventually encroaching on my children’s right to worship as I believe to be appropriate. Thus, I believe that we DO have to oppose some things. Sharia Law IS not as far away as it might at first seem.

        • my thoughts on this are very simple (maybe too simple):

          i agree completely that muslims should “be sensible enough to respect the fact that 3000 people died there because of the activity of their fellow Muslims.” and i wish they would decide not to build it.

          but i can’t get behind returning argument, opposition, complaint, and anger for their uncaring and/or stubbornness. that’s just not Christlike (and i’m not saying that’s what you’re doing, but it is what many christians are doing).

          • I believe that we have to fight for religious freedom. I have no political problem with Muslims having the same right to worship that I do. However, when their worship intrudes on the constitutionally granted rights of another citizen, I have a problem with that. A religion which has at its core the belief that religious government is a mandate from God must be monitored carefully. Yes, much of fundamental Christianity has the same problem.

            Just thoughts. I’m not “polar” on it.

            If we’re not willing to fight for religious freedom, we have no right to enjoy it.

          • i’m with you, bernard. i guess it’s just that i don’t see this mosque and its location as intruding on the rights of others.

        • I have a question, Bernard. And I hope you don’t take this the wrong way. I’d be interested in hearing your response. Is building a few blocks away the same as buying the property and building on the site? Cause that’s what you suggested were the similarities with the Baptist blowing up a clinic and building on the same site. I’m not all the way up on this topic, but do you think they are the same?

          I’d be interested in hearing how you believe this mosque is infringing on the rights of Americans. I’m not sure I’m following that.

          • You’ve condensed two statements into one.

            I do not believe the mosque infringes on the rights of Americans. I believe that the Muslim beliefs lead to a condition which infringes on the rights of Americans, because the direction of the Muslim religion – even though many Muslims probably don’t realize it or understand it – leads to government takeovers and laws that forbid other religions.

            As to whether “a few blocks” is the same as “on the property”, no, it’s not. But I am not convinced that there’s not a bit of “in your face” insult being thrown up there.

            Please realize that I don’t claim to be an authority on this subject, neither do I subscribe to the philosophy that one has to be an authority to discuss something.

          • Thanks for the explanation, Bernard. I can see where you’re coming from, but I’m not as speculative. I don’t have any interest in knowing their intentions. Until they start doing something illegal, I don’t really care to know about it. Like someone said, either here or on another post, it’s not in my relative sphere of influence. I don’t live in NYC. I’m not in a position to make a statement either way. I hope we as Christian Americans can get past any prejudices we have toward muslims so we can see them as God sees them.

            God bless brother.

          • I don’t mean to have any prejudice at all toward Muslims. I get rapidly frustrated with most Christian attitudes toward Muslims. There are, however, dangerous tendencies in the religion itself.

  2. randy morgan

    you roll me, brett.

    and you’re dead on with your perspective (in my humble opinion). this is simply another case of sinful human nature run amok, hiding behind the guise of spirituality and politics.

    “i want my way…and i’m justified in wanting my way.” we’ve seen it since the garden of eden.

    • that’s what it seems like to me. if christians would just stop to think about why they’re making the argument they’re making… i mean i can’t honestly say i’ve heard all the arguments (i do live in africa), but it sure seems to me to be the antithesis of what Jesus would do — demand his own rights, demand past wrongs be paid for over and over again, demand that others not do what offends him, demand his voice be heard. where did we become so confused?

  3. Khaliah

    YES! THIS POST IS SO YES!

  4. The hitch lies in using the ”mother-son“ metaphor. There is a chasm of difference between Islam and all other religions in that it is only Islam which advocates the killing of all infidels and Jews.

    If we were to stay with the mother-son metaphor and one son has attempted to take the life of the other son in the past and persists in threatening to finish the job, the wise parent will separate the two sons. The wise mother knows to protect the son who is threatened. ~Peregrine

    • peregrine, thanks for coming by and for sharing your comments. i like to think of my little story as more of a parable than an allegory.

      all the same, you said, “There is a chasm of difference between Islam and all other religions in that it is only Islam which advocates the killing of all infidels and Jews.”

      my answer is that there SHOULD be a chasm of difference between christianity and all other religions in how we treat other religions and people, especially those who have wronged us in the past — but i’m afraid there’s not.

  5. DS

    This made PERFECT sense to me. Seriously. I feel the same way… most of the time and then I get all my feelings involved and I fall flat on my face stumbling and muttering about my opinions and rambling like I’m doing now.

    Sorry!

    I only leave crazy comments late at night. I enjoyed this read!

    • don’t apologize, duane. you’re certainly allowed to ramble on my blog. have you seen the length of some of my posts? and a lot of them don’t even have a point…

      glad you agreed. that makes two of us who are right.

  6. I feel like saying that to many of my Jewish and Arab friends here…. I wish it were so easy as to put them in time out. LOL

  7. Really, when it’s all boiled down to simplest terms, this is the exact debate of the issue. Sure, it’s a little more complicated than this, but it’s just as banal.

    Also, I “liked” this post. And thanks for checking out my blog.

  8. Pingback: Mosques and Matthew 5 | the harvard ichthus

  9. “And you, Christianity, I can’t believe I’m listening to a 2000 year old whine and cry about where someone else wants to play with his toys. This is a shared house, and what do you think gives YOU the right to control where everybody else goes and what they do there?!”

    Very well said!

    Grace and peace,

    Rex

  10. Thanks Brett for this post. I’m rather frustrated with hearing about it from a slanted perspective, so the comedy was rather amusing.

    I’m new(ish) the the blogisfere and already I’m finding people with a passion for seeking God. It took me 21 years to find my purpose in life and it’s always encouraging when I find others who are seeking God as well.

    God bless brother.

  11. I loved it!

    I so wish it was as easy as “play nice.” But some of the kids have mental illness and need treatment. 😦

  12. Pingback: not near ground zero, they don’t « aliens and strangers

  13. Haven’t eaten since sunrise = funny.

    And, despite the tongue-in-cheek style, I appreciate the heart behind this.

    I read through yours and Bernard’s exchange, and I was reminded that Christians are called to be citizens of a heavenly nation – which supersedes our earthly nation. In this instance, I think Christian forgiveness goes a lot further than American patriotism.

    BUT, there’s no way this decision will be made on the basis of faith. The church and the state are supposed to be separate nowadays. And, they didn’t drive planes into a church with thousands of people. They drove planes into a business building that some have said represents capitalism and American domination worldwide. The “World Trade” center…

    As long as our country sees herself as a multi-religious nation, we won’t make this decision on the basis of Christianity. I suspect, the decision will be made with the values of Patriotism and “religious freedom” and political good-will… Oh, and the Almighty Dollar might play a roll as well.

  14. Pingback: burning holy books and the terry jones debacle « aliens and strangers

  15. Pingback: top 10 (visited) in 2010 [but not the 10 best] | aliens and strangers

Leave a Reply

