the vastness of the gospel

image courtesy of intheway.missionaltribe.org


I don’t want to be known as an evangelist. Don’t get me wrong — the origins of the word make it sound like a great thing:  one who announces the good news.  Now, I’d love to be known as that.  “Why, hello, I’ve got good news to share with you…”  Who doesn’t enjoy a bringer of those words in his life?*  But, no, instead the word evangelist has come to mean “someone who tries to convince another to become a Christian by explaining clearly and correctly the doctrines which need to be believed in order to be saved from one’s sins.”

I’d rather sell encyclopedias door-to-door.

[But I digress.  And again I will.  This post is the second in a series on the gospel.  I’m attempting to give a definition of the good news of Christ, but keep managing to put it off until later. The first post is here.]


I’m convinced most every denomination and sect of Christianity has grabbed onto some small portion of what actually is the good news — and is biased, then, toward their own abridged and pocket-sized version of the gospel.  Many of us orient our Christian communities around that single message, and it becomes evident from our lives which part of the gospel we’ve neglected.  We specialize in segments, and therefore, never experience the true and complete goodness of the news we’ve received.

Example: Many western churches have elevated to the status of the fullest manifestation of the gospel the good news of justification through the blood of Jesus Christ  — which is indeed good news, to be sure.  But it’s clear in looking at our day to day lives that many of us have all but abandoned the Lordship of that same Christ.  Jesus is powerful and loving to forgive us our sins, but not so much so that we will allow him to be the the sole authority in our lives.  And we’ve traveled so far from this concept of his sovereignty that the authority and Lordship of Christ doesn’t sound like good news to us.  Rather we hear it as a sort of passive subservience or a willingness to be dominated.  We’re so deeply established in justification and the forgiveness of sins that we’re unable to recognize the good news of possessing an authority who is perfect, gracious, and loving.

I believe I’ve over-made my arguments both for an incredibly large definition of the gospel and for our tendencies to accept — no, prefer — a small part in place of the larger whole.  So what is the gospel, then?  Can the good news for man be summed up in a blog post?  The more I think and study on this, the less equipped I feel for the task.  And maybe that means I’m finally beginning to understand the gospel.  Dr. Harvey Floyd, a former professor of mine at Lipscomb University, used to say the less sense we can make of the Trinity, the more we truly understand it.  I think the gospel may be similar.

The gospel of Christ is such an incredible and vast concept that it can be, and is, good news to every individual and people group on earth, despite culture, context, and time.  And as we enter into relationship with God, we continually realize the greater significance and countless implications of the good news which we’ve received.  A friend of mine (named Ike) reminded me yesterday that we generally view the gospel as an entryway into Christianity, a shallow and elementary concept adopted by seekers and new believers — from which they can, and do, quickly advance into the weightier matters of God and spirituality.  But, Ike suggests, the gospel IS the weightier matter of God and spirituality.

That’s a beautiful thought to me — not that I can unlock the “hidden mysteries” of the gospel as I advance in spiritual maturity — but that the good news is always going to be good news to me, no matter at which station in life I may find myself.  The gospel isn’t received when accepting Christ, and then left behind.  Rather its goodness compounds and intensifies as we live in Christ.  And this truth, in itself, is part of what makes the good news so very good.

I’m afraid I’ve rambled.  Forgive me.  So now it will be the NEXT post in which I attempt to address what a full and complete understanding of the gospel must include (at least as full an understanding as I’ve realized up to this point in my life) — and I promise I shan’t procrastinate again.


* Except for the “why, hello” bit, which honestly sounds a little creepy — or superheroish; why are superheroes allowed to say creepy things the rest of us shouldn’t, anyway?  I mean, Spiderman alone says some pretty creepy stuff:

  • It’s your friendly neighborhood Spiderman.
  • My spider-sense is tingling.
  • With great power comes great responsibility.
  • Advertisements

    33 Comments

    Filed under evangelism, gospel

    33 responses to “the vastness of the gospel

    1. Pingback: what does it mean to preach the gospel? « aliens and strangers

    2. You wrote: “Dr. Harvey Floyd, a former professor of mine at Lipscomb University, used to say the less sense we can make of the Trinity, the more we truly understand it.”

      I sat around a table with several men a few weeks ago talking about questions concerning Christianity. One of the young believers asked the following question, “Was Jesus God?”

      While discussing the answer, I made this statement to this gentleman concerning the trinity, “at the point we feel that we need to completely understand God and His ways, we have actually created a god in our image.”

      At some point we swim far enough away from the beach and discover just how great and unknowable the ocean is. Our image of God is much the same way.. the more we let go of our image of Him, the greater He becomes for who He is.

      • it’s true. i like to search for answers. and if i can’t find answers, i like to give it my best guess. and i don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. but at the same time i wish i were better at just letting God be God and accepting that there’s a whole, whole lot that i can’t know or figure out.

    3. Oh.. I meant to add my 2 cents about salvation through the gospel.

      I like how Romans reminds us:

      We have been saved. (Regeneration/Justification)
      We are being saved. (Sanctification)
      We will be saved. (Glorification)

      The gospel is heavily involved for the first 2 points and is our hope for the third.

      • JMF

        Great points, Tony York.

        Although your concept from Romans makes my head spin just a bit…the whole “are saved/being saved/will be saved” thing is something I’ve studied recently, and frankly, don’t feel that I understand any better.

        I’ve been trying to wrap that concept into an analogy to see if I can understand it any better.

      • I haven’t quite decided if I agree with that particular re-writing of Romans or not. Even tho an over-arching question for me is whether salvation is a process or a moment.

        Personally, to say we “have been / are being/ will be” saved requires three definitions of the word “saved”, and that’s language modification at it’s best.

        Phil 1:6 indicates God is doing a work in us. Most assume it to be “salvation”. Most of those same people also assume Romans 10:9 to assure instantaneous salvation at the moment of faith.

        Having grown up in a Free Will Baptist environment, the common “casualness” that results from a “momentary faith / eternal salvation” mentality doesn’t sit well with me. Simultaneously, I don’t believe that God “unsaves” anyone once the blood has been applied. Also simultaneously, the issue of perseverance is important. I believe our “hour of decision” is a daily event; we must live every day through faith in Jesus Christ. I believe this is why many fall away and lose faith; they are never exposed to the part of the Gospel that discusses the carrying of the cross, which I see as a much bigger thing than enduring mockery for wearing a Christian t-shirt or saying goodbye to a grandmother who has passed away.

        The Gospel carries Good News to me in that, in my imperfect faith and limited belief, the King of Glory chose to lay down his life on a rugged cross for me and rose from the dead to conquer the grave that would love to swallow me on a daily basis. When I cannot fully comprehend what “belief” even IS, He loves me, He carries me, and He shelters me.

        Is God done with the “work”? Not in the way I see things. Yet, the work is DONE. It was finished at the cross.

        I can sit okay with “are saved” and “will be saved”. The concept of “are being saved” leaves me a bit twisted on whether I can agree or not. I say we have been changed, we are being changed, and we will be changed. Our hearts were changed, our lives are being changed, and our bodies will be changed, because of the fact that we ARE saved.

        Perhaps that’s just perspective rather than a real difference. I’m just not Calvinistic / Reformed enough to quite accept a “partial” salvation, and I’m not Southern Baptist enough to accept “momentary faith / eternal security”, either.

        • The definition of have-been/are-being/will-be isn’t about creating the final package of ‘Salvation’. Regeneration/Justification is all that is required for the future work of Glorification because it cannot be left behind, forgotten, or destroyed.

          But what do we do during the book-ends of Regeneration and Glorification assuming we live between those moments?

          We become more like Christ – Sanctification. We continue to repent and be transformed… not for Justification but for our shaping and equipping for His service.

          • I would use another Philippians verse to support present salvation:

            So then, my beloved, just as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your salvation with fear and trembling;

          • “But what do we do during the book-ends of Regeneration and Glorification assuming we live between those moments?

            We become more like Christ – Sanctification. We continue to repent and be transformed… not for Justification but for our shaping and equipping for His service.”

            Then, if it’s not part of being saved from hell and damnation, why would we refer to it as “we are being saved”? Remember, my history is fraught with a teaching that says “we must not sin in order that we may keep our salvation, because if we sin, we lose it.”

            The perspective that says salvation is incomplete unless we do certain things after a moment where we first “accept Christ” is terribly close to the same position, regardless of what the “certain things” are. There is no satisfactory description of Calvinism, for me, in this regard. The descriptions always describe a Christian that is continually trying to live without sin in order to prove to himself and to other Christians that he is truly saved. It always puts faith in “the way I act right now” rather than “in Christ.” (Again, I understand – some of it’s perspective.) However, the sound bite of “have been / are being /will be saved” that makes it sit comfortably for some doesn’t completely clear my thoughts.

            Sorry, Brett – I didn’t mean to take this so far afield from your post. Specially to a Calvinism / not Calvinism debate. However, the Calvinistic / Reformed definition of the Gospel is RADICALLY different from that of the Methodists, Wesleyans, and most Southern Baptists.

            I didn’t say the “Gospel” was different, only that the definition is different. Think about that in light of what Brett has said.

            • bernard, what i’ve always wanted is for my posts to encourage discussion between christians (and non-christians as well).

              i don’t really care a great deal which direction the discussion goes, but just that people feel open to having one.

              actually, when i was considering starting a blog, it was my desire for deeper thought and spiritual conversation that tipped me over the edge of that decision. here in geita, my swahili still limits me from having the deeper bible discussions with tanzanians, and i think my teammates might tire of my over-processing and wanting to talk about the same idea for days.

              it came down to trying to form a group of friends from the states who would share ideas and scriptures in emails and then converse about them — or a blog. i opted for the blog, so that whoever had time to participate could, and others wouldn’t feel pressured.

              anyway, bernard, don’t ever apologize for conversation. i enjoy it a great deal.

      • so i have been taught, and believe, that the word salvation is used in the three different “tenses” listed above. and what i really like about the use of those three separate ideas is that it forces us to understand better discipleship and the transforming power of the Holy Spirit. it helps to prevent us from buying into a “my-sins-were-forgiven-and-i’m-going-to-heaven-so-that’s-all-christianity-is-good-for” mentality.

        also it reminds us that salvation is a process and not a single point in time. we like this single point in time idea, but it seems to me to be incredibly far both from eastern thinking and from what scripture teaches.

        HOWEVER, i think we’ve taken those three ideas (justification, sanctification, and glorification) and separated them apart when they’re not really meant to be. it’s good to understand the concepts, but we act like one can be present without the other — or that it’s normal for that to be so.

        i think the orthodox church has a better view (in my opinion) of this progression in salvation. they don’t separate it into three parts (my understanding anyway), rather they just understand salvation as becoming more like Jesus and more under God’s sovereign rule. that seems healthier to me. [james, correct me if i’m wrong.]

        • I like to think that it is the Gospel that brings the three together into a cohesive ‘function’.

          It was the gospel message that presented to us our sinful state and separation from God AND the beautiful savior, Christ Jesus that leads us to regeneration in the Holy Spirit.

          It is the gospel that continues to shape us over our life times if we are obedient to both the guiding hand of the Holy Spirit and to the instruction provided by God’s word.

          And finally, it is the gospel that continues to point us to the author and perfecter of our faith who is the hope(not the wish but the expectant completion of our joy) that we will know in fullness once this life is complete.

          The gospel is a song, that once heard, we learn to dance to for the rest of eternity.

    4. The more I read your stuff, the more I like you.

      Not that such has anything at all to do with your post…

      • bernard, i really appreciate that. it means a lot. i don’t understand how that works, though — reading more of my stuff makes you like me, and yet it has nothing to do with this post (or any posts)? but still, i can’t say that i care the reason. i just like being liked.

        • Uh…… yeah, that. 🙂

          Some bloggers get really out of shape if the comments on their posts don’t stick with the original topic. There’s a bit of an “unwritten rule”, it seems, in that regard, and so I try to not go all coffee shop if I don’t know how the blogger feels.

          As well, it frustrates ME that virtually any Gospel / salvation discussion seems to always break down to Calvinism yes or no. (I know, I’m the guy what brought it up…) I’m actually quite sick of “Calvinism”, because I thought it was about following Christ, even if Calvin be damned. (No offense, and I don’t mean that as a “curse” word.) I’m rather sick of people who take their entire identity from being a Calvinist. I want to be known as a Christlike Christian follower of Christ. And I’ve got a long ways to go 🙂

          • I completely understand your thoughts on the labels that we use, Bernard. Unfortunately, labels allow us to quickly disseminate a body of knowledge without having to repeat it. Take the word, ‘Christian’, that you used to label yourself. That allows anyone who comes along to understand a lot about your beliefs without having to actually know you. Of course, some of their assumptions and presuppositions may be off base.

            I am not sure which responses above were leaning towards Calvinism as no TULIP points were given 😉 , however, just like Christian, Calvinism allows the reader, if they understand the precepts of that bent, to understand the bias of the author without the author having to repeat all of the doctrine of Calvin.

            I have just recently started studying Calvin’s writings and I must admit that I was blown away by the letter that he wrote to the king of France. It was fantastic. I was less than enthused about his stance on having people put to death for heresy.

            I have noticed that there is a distinct Reformed Calvinism wind blowing through western Christianity today… not sure when it started but having looked into deeper, I find myself falling towards that camp in my understanding of scripture.

            As far as Calvinism “Yes/No” that is typically boiled down to just the stance on predestination/election. His greater writings as recorded in his book, “The Institutes of Christian Religion”, cover a much broader subject.

    5. Ike

      Now I make known to you, brethren, the gospel which I preached to you, which also you received, in which also you stand, by which also you are saved, if you hold fast the word which I preached to you, unless you believed in vain. For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received, that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures, and that He was buried, and that He was raised on the third day according to the Scriptures,
      I Corinthians 15:1-4

      A writer or preacher would be hard pressed to produce a better introduction to the Gospel of Jesus Christ than that which is given here by the Apostle Paul to the church in Corinth. In these few lines, he gives us enough truth to live on for a lifetime and to bring us home to glory. Only the Holy Spirit could enable a man to write so much, so clearly, and in so little space.

      Now I make known to you, brethren, the gospel… I Corinthians 15:1

      In this simple phrase, we find a truth that must be rediscovered by all of us. The Gospel is not merely an introductory message to Christianity. It is “the” message of Christianity, and it is not only the means of salvation, but also the means of continued sanctification in the life of the most mature believer.

      The Apostle had already preached the Gospel to these people! He was their father in the faith! Yet he sees the greatest need to continue teaching the Gospel to them, not only to remind them of its essential ingredients, but also to expand their knowledge of it. At their conversion, they merely began a journey of discovery that would encompass their entire life and carry on through the endless ages of eternity – the discovery of the glories of God revealed in the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

      As we look through the annals of Christian history, we see men and women of unusual passion for God and His kingdom. We long to be like them, and we wonder how they came to have such enduring fire. I have studied the lives of quite a few of them, and I find one common denominator among them. They all seem to have caught a glimpse of the glory of the Gospel, and its beauty kindled their passion and drove them on. Genuine and enduring passion comes from an ever-increasing, ever-deepening understanding of what God has done for His people in the person and work of Jesus Christ!

      Today, there are so many conferences and such, especially for our youth, which are designed to excite the believer’s passion through fellowship, music, eloquent speakers, emotional stories, and impassioned pleas. Yet, often whatever excitement they create quickly vanishes. In the end, little fires have been built in little hearts that burn out in a few days. We have forgotten that genuine, enduring passion is born out of one’s knowledge of the truth, and specifically the truth of the Gospel. The more one comprehends its beauty, the more one will be apprehended by its power. One glance of the Gospel will move the truly regenerate heart to follow. Every greater glimpse will quicken its pace until it is running recklessly toward the prize. Such beauty, the truly Christian heart cannot resist. This is the great need of the day! It is what we have lost—the preaching of the Gospel.

      • ike, i certainly agree that paul’s words in 1 corinthians 15 are a powerful demonstration of a portion of the gospel. but i fear it’s pauline texts that we’ve overemphasized and forgotten nearly all of Jesus’ own words on the gospel of the kingdom.

        • Ike

          Jesus called for a narrow, difficult, radical, dramatic admission of sinfulness; an acknowledgment that we are nothing and have nothing with which to commend ourselves to God. Faith begins when we throw ourselves on His mercy for forgiveness.
          To come through the narrow gate, you must enter with your heart repentant over sin, ready to turn from loving sin to loving the Lord. When John the Baptist was preparing a people to receive the Messiah, they were coming to be baptized because they wanted to have their sins forgiven. To any Jew, preparation for the coming of the Messiah and readiness for His kingdom meant purging the heart of sinfulness.

          You must also enter the narrow gate in utter surrender to Christ. No one can be regenerate, as Christ indicates in Matthew 7, by simply adding Jesus Christ to his carnal activities. Salvation is not an addition; it’s a transformation that leads to willing submission to His Word. The whole message of 1 John is that if you are truly redeemed, it will manifest itself in a transformed life in which you confess sin, characteristically obey the Lord, and manifest love for the Lord and others. The divine miracle of a changed life reveals true salvation, resulting in a heart that desires to obey the Lord. As Jesus said, “If you abide in My Word, you are My disciples indeed” (John 8:31).

          • ike, i think i’m with you on all that. i just fear that we emphasize the individual’s salvation from sin over kingdom and community. it’s not that i don’t believe forgiveness of sins is important; it’s just that i believe Jesus intended more.

            • Ike

              God’s rule on earth has begun….He is defeating death, over-coming poverty, adopting orphans, and establishing His rule through His church etc…..

    6. Bernard,

      I definitely agree that we should steer clear of teachings that would lead to legalism or to anything that would decrease the work that was completed on the cross.

      That is one of the reasons that I strive to understand what scripture says without looking through the filter of my upbringing (I was raised Pentecostal and also was taught that one could lose their salvation).

      I believe salvation is much more than just saving us from hellfire. I am daily saved from my own ambitions,desires, and temptations though the power of the Holy Spirit. Christ even instructed His disciples to pray daily for ‘deliverance’ from evil.

      I would be interested in your thoughts on what sanctification is and how we are to reflect it.

      • Tony – Hopefully I’ll get a chance tomoro 2 answer. Time for sleepie right now 🙂

      • “The perspective that says salvation is incomplete unless we do certain things after a moment where we first ‘accept Christ’ is terribly close to the same position, regardless of what the ‘certain things’ are.”

        bernard, i think i’m with you in that i want to stay far from legalism and attempts at earning our salvation by following rules.

        at the same time, though, there are numerous passages that tell us we’ll be judged by our deeds.

        i think one of the problems is we’ve tried to separate belief in Christ from obedient living in Christ, as if one or the other saves us. and the truth is that they are inseparable (or should be) — and that neither saves us. we want so badly to show salvation is a free gift that we’re unwilling for any form of obedience to be “necessary.” OR on the other side, we are so sickened by the disobedience we see in “christians” that we are willing to do away with grace itself.

        but it is grace that forgives us our sins and that same grace that enables us to be obedient. [i think.]

        *the other option is that belief in Christ “saves” us, and obedience to Christ determines our reward in heaven. i don’t like this idea because it makes belief in Christ a goal — and i don’t think it is. i think FAITH in Christ is what we’re looking for, and that differs from belief in that the obedient life necessarily follows — because we believe so much in this Christ that we give him our lives and serve him as Lord.

        • Just reread this response and I liked what you wrote here:

          “i think one of the problems is we’ve tried to separate belief in Christ from obedient living in Christ, as if one or the other saves us. and the truth is that they are inseparable (or should be) — and that neither saves us.”

          Boy won’t that be a shocker to a lot of people who sit on one side of the fence or the other! 🙂

          I have tried to explain faith as being, simultaneously, the belief and the action taken upon that belief.

          Regeneration/Justification can only occur if you believe AND accept. And that acceptance incorporates things like repentance and surrender.

          Sanctification also takes a workable faith – we need to believe, again, what God instructs as being good and then to respond through application. I think the part that throws people off is the motivation for which we respond. Do we try to create a checklist religiosity or are we lovingly obedient?

          • i’m just surprised these days with the disobedient lives that pass for lives of faith today. and i know, because it was me for much of my life.

            true faith involves obedience.

            • Do you think it is important in how one obeys?

              I can grudgingly obey the law to wear my seat belt but my heart really isn’t in it.

              Are we called to fake it until we make it? ( I have heard this type of mentality used to support tithing).

              Maybe we need both grudging obedience and loving obedience? Thoughts?

            • i’m not sure how i feel about that, tony. i mean i really want obedience to God to be simply out of love for him. but i also know there are times when i stop to talk with a homeless person because i know i should — or even that i move to tanzania when it’s not the place i’d most like to be.

              so the way i see it i’ve got three choices (not that i think you can necessarily refer to christians as good or bad):
              1. i’m a bad christian, who is obedient but not out of love.
              2. i’m a good christian, but just not “there” yet — and will be one day while still on earth.
              3. i’m a good christian, but just not “there” yet — and won’t be completely until heaven.

              i lean towards it being #3, that as long as i’m in this broken place there are going to be times that i’m obedient even though i might not want to. i mean we acknowledge that while on earth, christians continue to occasionally (or more often) sin. and being obedient (whatever the reason) seems one step better than disobedience, right?

              i also think of the two brothers who are told by their dad to do something. one says he will and doesn’t, the other says he won’t and does. the second is the one who is pleasing to his father, despite his initially not wanting to be.

      • Sanctification – the process of being changed to be like Christ.

        However this shouldn’t imply that we are “perfect” the moment before we die. Neither does this imply that God cannot make instantaneous changes, because sometimes he does.

        “I believe salvation is much more than just saving us from hellfire.” Amen, amen, amen. Too many Christians see Jesus Christ as God’s last ditch effort to prevent his runaway creation from going to hell. They feel that hell is more powerful than God, but not more powerful than the Blood of Christ. When Jesus died, they seem to feel that God breathed a big sigh of relief that he could FINALLY forgive people of their sins without Satan winning on a technicality.

        Personally, I see it as much more Biblical that God had a plan to sacrifice his Son even before Adam was created. I see the Cross as the ultimate moment in time, with the Resurrection being the witness and proof of what happened at the Cross. None of it was accidental. None of it was “we gotta do something to regain control!”

        The Almighty God has no need to save us from hell. I basically believe that he created hell, but that forces me to believe that he created it for a purpose, and the tension between free will and predestination is difficult to settle. The struggle, quite honestly, often leads me to the point of theological “give up” because neither one makes any freaking sense at all. Either God loves everybody or he doesn’t love everybody. The Bible says he loves everybody.

        I say all that to say this – yes, it’s bigger than being saved from hell, but hell and the rapture are the biggest fear tactics in evangelical Christianity, and that really gets on my nerves. Even the “evangelists” themselves are driven by fear – the fear that someone will go to hell on their watch. If they can just keep people from going to hell, they’ve done a good thing. If they can keep someone from being Left Behind, they’ve done a good thing. Fear. Fear. “If I don’t scare these people to death, they’re going to die and go to hell.” No allowance for the God that we proclaim to be in control to work in their hearts. It’s all “us”.

        I’ve seen situations where (and actually BEEN a situation) longtime followers of Christ who made some form of a profession earlier in life – possibly incomplete and imperfect and uninformed – came to the conclusion that “I’m not saved”. Terrifying – I’ve done it myself. The obsession with “the moment” being done perfectly and establishing a “know that you know that you know” salvation “yes or no” has led me to wonder if we aren’t totally missing the point of “the Gospel”.

        Of course, I don’t want anyone to go to hell. I don’t want to go to hell. But to make it JUST about that moment destroys most of the “good news”, in my opinion, because there is, indeed, much more to it. I just don’t know how much more.

        I see salvation as a process that is begun at a moment. I don’t think it’s nearly as critical WHEN that moment is as it is to continually exercise our faith in a process. (This leads to a complete discussion of baptism and re-baptism that I am trying to stay away from.) If a child makes a profession and doesn’t do a very good job of being a Christian for many years, or if he “gets saved” many times, I don’t think we need to obsess about which one was “the real one.” What we need to recognize is that God is working in the kid’s life and help him draw closer and closer to Jesus. If he’s seeking Jesus, Jesus promises that he won’t be turned away. In this perspective, I fully believe that Jesus is saving that boy every day.

        My point is largely the same as yours – emphasizing the moment more than the life is just as dangerous as the reverse. I just feel that emotional and mental manipulation (distortion of the Gospel) to force the moment to happen has led to where “we” are.

        • Great points!

          We can’t find support for ‘say this prayer’ in the bible. What we can find is the process of discipleship. Discipleship begins before one knows Christ as savior.

          The verses that comprise what we know as the great commission are some of the most repeated and under-applied or ill-applied verses that we can find in the New Testament.

          Christ’s command was to Make Disciples – that is not an act of a moment. He also provides instruction to baptize and to Teach them all things.

          As far as the motivation of hell and its impact on our activities, I would hope that the heart of the matter is that we who know the safety and love of Christ would be desperate that others would know the same because we care for them.

          The theology of hell, God’s love/mercy, and God’s rightful judgment is a subject that we could discuss at length and still wonder at the immensity of the subject.

    7. Pingback: the full and complete gospel « aliens and strangers

    Leave a Reply

    