as if


The words of God to the prophet in Isaiah 58 (bolds and all caps mine):

“Shout it aloud, do not hold back.
Raise your voice like a trumpet.
Declare to my people their rebellion
and to the house of Jacob their sins.

For day after day they seek me out;
they seem eager to know my ways,
AS IF they were a nation that does what is right
and has not forsaken the commands of its God.”

Sound familiar to anyone?

  • “Let’s really seek God’s face this morning, as we sing praises to his name.”
  • “I really need to work more on my personal relationship with God.”
  • “You should pray for a sign so that you can truly know God’s will.”
  • “I want to know you, I want to hear your voice, I want to know you more.  I want to touch you, I want to see your face, I want to know you more.”

Are we seeking God’s face, seeming eager to know him — all the while being disobedient to his commands?  If so, God thinks that odd.

[More on this subject and on Isaiah 58 to come — fasting: for me or for the oppressed?]
10 Comments

Filed under musings on the Word, woe to us

10 responses to “as if

  1. Hey, I could use some prayer today. If you had a moment or two, I sure would appreciate it.

    PS. I went to Three Chopt Church of Christ. They introduced me to the best song in the entire universe. “Sanctuary” LOVE IT.

    Oh lord prepare me, to be a sanctuary….can’t stop singing it! And the acappela was…wow.

    • prayers have been offered up on your behalf, jessica. let me know if there’s anything more i can do (or pray about).

      and you went to three chopt, huh? i guess i kind of take acappela music for granted, and forget how beautiful it is — or can be. glad you enjoyed the song service.

  2. Do you get the feeling that the word “nation” in the OT is more applicable to the individual Christian today than it is to any “nation”? That’s how I’m starting to read it. Since there are no theocratic “nations”, and since “my people” would refer to the church instead of to “America” or “Tanzania” or “Russia”, do you feel that we’re completely missing the point when we take verses that were directed to Israel – who was promised “a land” – and try to apply them to ANY country?

    Thus, much more of the OT is PERSONAL to me than it is to the President of the US.

    • bernard, i think you’re absolutely right to say that we’ve missed the point when we read these texts as being for own countries.

      but i would argue we come a lot closer to the correct interpretation when we substitute “church” for nation. i think our understanding of christianity already leans too far to the side of individualism and personal saviors, etc.

  3. Well said. And you still have to go read about Jason’s Ironman, even though you cheated and looked ahead. 🙂

  4. Absolutely true. I feel like a hypocrite sometimes

  5. Pingback: fasting: for me or for the oppressed? « aliens and strangers

  6. Pingback: the sabbath and work « aliens and strangers

Leave a Reply

