fruitless

image courtesy of fir0002 at flagstaffotos

 

Once upon a time, there was a God whose followers met together every Sunday.  They called themselves by his name and praised him for his willingness to save them from their sins.  One day, the God went to see if his Spirit was producing in these people love and goodness — and if his followers were making other disciples.  He was disappointed to discover there was no fruit.

So he said to his son, “We’ve been waiting for these people to have hearts like ours for a long time.  I keep expecting them to love one another with a great love, and for that love to spread throughout their neighborhoods and towns.  But I’ve seen nothing of the such.  Get rid of them, would you?  They’re taking up space in a kingdom to which they don’t belong — and to which, deep down, they don’t want to belong.  And they’re ruining my good name.”

“But father,” the son replied, “please give them just a little while longer.  I’ll touch the hearts of those whose hearts can still be touched, and I’ll convict anyone who will hear my words.  And if, still then, they refuse to look and act like us, we’ll do as you say.”

— Luke 13:6-9 (more or less)

 

5 Comments

Filed under modern-day retelling, parables

5 responses to “fruitless

  1. Sometimes I struggle with the issue of being prideful about how much Christlike fruit I may or may not have. In other words, it’s very hard to objectively look at ourselves and decide whether or not we are bearing Christian fruit. We may think we love people a lot, but to an unbiased eye, we may not demonstrate any love at all. I may “feel” love for the homeless guy on the street, but to his eyes, I look just like another dude that drives by and doesn’t care. I may feel love for kids in Africa, in my own opinion, but to them, or to a missionary like yourself, I’m doing nothing at all which demonstrates that love. Thus, I may consider myself to be loving, but to your eyes, and especially to God’s eyes, I’m not loving at all – even though God does see my heart.

    This leads me to conclude that a sensitive part of this subject that you address so eloquently is that we MUST allow the Bible and the Holy Spirit to be our fruit inspector. We must desperately seek the humility of allowing God to convict us, prune us, and help us to grow so that we may have true fruit. I must not let the fact that I know how to impress someone lead me to believe that I have it all down pat, because that is, indeed, the root of pride, which is a cancer that destroys all fruit. Simply because I love in some form or fashion does not mean that I am truly bearing the fruit of love, and I should desperately seek to love in a completely selfless and sacrificial way at all times, not simply to satisfy myself that I am bearing fruit.

    Is my love for show or is it born out of the true love that God gives?

  2. Chinwe

    Happy National Monkey Day, Brett 🙂

    http://www.monkeyday.com/

    Nope. This has nothing to do with this blog post.

  3. steve ker

    Sunday morning worship, Sunday School, Sunday night service, Monday night mens leadership Wednesday night family classes, Thrusday night womens leadership, etc, etc,etc.
    Maybe we should only be allowed to enter the church once per week and the rest of the time be out loving our neighbors and producing fruit.

Leave a Reply

