brett’s morning blend (23mar11)

Explore Your Morality

I’m in the middle of a little series on morality and ethics (inspired by the story of Rahab), and a helpful reader provided me with this very interesting link.  A group of psychology professors and graduate students from three universities have created a site on which you can explore your own morality by taking several simple tests.  There are dozens of these tests available, and you’re provided with your own personalized results in graph form (comparing your views to those of the average liberal and conservative).  You have to register, but it’s free and your information remains private (while used in research and studies).

The Humble Origins of 11 Restaurants

My hometown of Dothan, Alabama, was the first city in the world to have a Cracker Barrel NOT on an interstate.  [We’re also the “Peanut Capital of the World.”]  While Dothan’s not anywhere in this article, the story of the beginning of Cracker Barrel is.  As are the origins of Waffle House and nine other popular eateries.

17 Images to Ruin Your Childhood

From Star Wars to Bugs Bunny, the entertainment world wasn’t quite as impressive as it looked when we were little.  [Or when I was little.  For all I know, some of you guys are really old….]

Globetrotter XL

I haven’t played a computer game in 10 years… until this one.  Christie and I were both addicted for a day or two.  It’s a simple idea:  You’re given a world map (no country names) and a location.  Your task is to click as close as possible to that location.  But once you advance far enough in the game, the country lines disappear.  I haven’t played in a while, but I’m pretty sure completing level 10 wins the game.

Why the SEC Dominates in Football

It’s a fact; don’t try to argue agin’ it.  But if you want to know why the best college football in the country is played in the southeast, this article contains some insights for you.  [In 13 years of the BCS, SEC schools have won the championship game 7 times — and that includes an undefeated Auburn team not getting the chance to play for it in 2004.  Oh, and those 7 championships were won by 5 different schools.]

For Which Baseball Team Should I Cheer?

I don’t like baseball; I think it’s boring and slow.  But I did find this flowchart amusing.  Want to know which team you should cheer for?  Apparently, if you don’t care if your team wins or not and keep a skinny latte in your game day thermos, you should be a Seattle Mariners fan.  But if it’s gravy you’re sipping, you ought to be pulling for the Kansas City Royals.

The Bike Shelf

This is a pretty sweet bicycle storage system; I’d like to recreate it.  But I’m not gonna’ pay $300 for it… that’s for sure.

17 Comments

Filed under morning blend

17 responses to “brett’s morning blend (23mar11)

  1. Okay, I could really go for that bicycle storage item. We have a total of 5 bikes, and 3 of them live inside because I guess we think they are too good for the garage. How fitting for a cyclist/Ironman home!

    I thought the same thing about baseball, and it seemed like all the guys in high school I dated were on the baseball team and I never wanted to go to their games. And I always felt bad about that. But last year Jason took me to a game in San Fran and I actually had a really great time. Lots of snacks help.

    • i can handle actually going to baseball games. the atmosphere is worth it to me.

      we have three bikes, and they’re all inside the house…

      • Are yours inside because they would go away if they weren’t?

        • yes. er, i mean it’s true they’d be taken if left outside. but i’ve always kept my bikes inside. christie’s not a fan.

          on a side note, i think i’m about to start riding a couple of hours on the trainer in our living room at night. it would help me get everything done in a day that i want to if i could exercise at night…

          • Yeah, that is the nice thing about a trainer – you can do it whenever you want, no matter the elements or outside or schedule. Jason rides his trainer all winter. I did it once.

  2. It appears I have no soul. Although I also pull for the Cubs, the Braves, AND the Cardinals. So.

    Baseball is not boring. I used to think the same, so it’s fair for me to say that. Baseball is somewhat cathartic. Baseball is also much more interesting if you study the rules in detail and realize how much those guys actually have to think. Another challenge is to study umpiring. It’s an amazingly difficult job, and if you watch a game through the eyes of an umpire, you will NEVER find it boring because there are jillions of things to keep up with. Another thing is the incredible amount of skill required to pitch. Study pitching, and even try to duplicate some of what happens sometime, and it will become less boring, as well. The lulls in action followed by moments of extremely variable explosive action tend to draw the eye back time and time again, because at virtually any moment, the game could be turned on its head. Pick a team and watch what it takes to be a good team. There’s a lot to baseball that never meets the eye. And going to games – although I know that’s tough in Tanzania – will really change your perspective.

    But if it’s boring to you, I won’t hold it against you. But it’s not truly boring, and it’s gonna hurt my feelings a wee bit to hear somebody say that. (Not in a get mad way, just in a “I can’t believe you really insulted something that I like” kinda way.) 🙂 Sorta like saying “your dog is UGLY, man!”

  3. I am late to come to your house because of Globetrotter.

  4. Jason Miller

    Ok, I just got asked about Mwanza, TZ on Globetrotter. Got to level 10 and died.

  5. Eagle

    Brett=

    I didn’t thave time to respond to your comments in comparision between Rehab and lieing, contraditions in the Bible and how that can be similar to flaws in the Book of Mormon.

    First of all one of the things I leaned as a former fundegelical is that many Christians play it both ways. For example take the Rehab story…despite the contradicitons in the Bible many Christians will find a way to defend the contradicitons and have an explanation for it. Yet they will turn around and take 2 contesting versus from the Book of Mormon (I can’t think of any from the top of my head now but please follow…) and then say that those contraditions are what makes the Book of Mormon to be false. My point is that many Christians want to have it both ways – defend contradictions in evangelical faith yet exploit contradictions in JW, LDS, mainline Protestantism, etc…

    One other point about morality is that I think its a flaw in Christian thinking to believe that you need God to be moral. And that’s not true either. I don’t consider Mormons to be Christians, and yet they can be more moral at times than Christians. Same holds true for many agnostics and atheists. You can look at how the US military can force behavior change in their soldiers, airman, sailors, etc.. through secular methods such as the UCMJ, order and discipline, etc.. So in closing many Christians will claim that you need God to be moral…AND nothing can be further from the truth. This was one of the many issues that helped me realize that Christianity is flawed.

    Been meaning to get back to you, but work has kept me busy.

    • i agree with you completely that many christians want to overlook inconsistencies — or seeming contradictions, anyway — in the bible while pointing out the same kind of things in other religions and their books.

      as to your second point, i’m not sure exactly what i think. but i think i believe, like you do, that anyone can be moral (christian or not). i mean that anyone can mostly adhere to a system of ethics. it only requires that they follow some rules. but i see christianity as different in that the change is affected from within the believer, and empowered by the Holy Spirit.

      no problem on taking some time to get back… i enjoy our conversations — whenever they take place.

      • Jason Miller

        I think what you may be talking about, Eagle, when you talk of people arguing they can’t be moral without God is actually their misuse of the following argument: true morality is only when good and evil actually have cosmic meaning beyond what’s good for me (good) and what’s bad for me (evil). This is only possible with a God (an ultimate good) and the idea of the opposite of the ultimate good.

        Of course, that’s a real short summation. But, you can see where people could (erroneously) pull the kind of philosophical gymnastics you speak of, when in actuality we all know non-Christians (of various ideologies) who are good people, as well as Christians who don’t seem to possess any moral-fibre (moral being defined as above).

        I find most often that definition of terms is key. Even in blogs.

Leave a Reply

