the (not so) april fool’s day mongoose

So I thought about posting an April’s Fool Day joke on aliens and strangers today.  I had a few ideas, none of which I’ll divulge — lest I not be able to use them later.  But I’m just unwilling to waste a prank on April 1st. I can at times be a bit of a practical jokester; I really enjoy it….

mongoose: a small carnivorous animal with a long body and tail and grizzled coat;  eats snakes, chickens, goldfish crackers, and white missionaries

[Photo:   In February, at our East Africa Missionary Men’s retreat in Kenya, a few of us lured a wild mongoose into the living room of one of the houses at Rondo Retreat Center.  From there we steered it, the largest mongoose in the Kakamega Rainforest, into the bedroom of a sleeping missionary.  Then we locked the door.  We had quite the laugh when Caleb woke up to a snarling snake-killer in his trash can.  (The picture above is of the actual mongoose on the night of our stunt.  If you look closely, you can see a few goldfish on the floor between the animal and the chair.)]

So I do enjoy pranks and jokes, I do.  But I don’t think of them as profitable on this one day of the year.  A good prank takes a great deal of thought and energy (and a lot of cheese goldfish crackers if it involves luring a mongoose).  And people just catch on too quickly on April 1st.  They’re expecting it.  It’s the one day of the year I would never want to do a prank.

But I do want to participate in some way on this mischievous day.  So I’ve decided to provide you with some reading on the subject.  Hope you enjoy. Happy April Fool’s Day!

Origins of April Fools’ Day — According to Snopes

It’s possible it all began with some French peasants who would try to convince one another April 1 was the first day of the new year.  But that’s just one theory.  Personally, any story that involves Frenchmen being duped sounds believable to me.  You know, scientists have actually proven that the French have inferior brain function to the rest of us?

Top 100 April Fool’s Day Hoaxes of All Time

My vote for number one: (#7) Alabama legislature passes law to change the value of pi to 3.0.

Honorable mention: Any prank in which the French are shown to be gullible.

50 Easy April Fool’s Day Pranks To Play On Your Friends

#10 – “Pour vegetable oil on the exhaust of someone’s car so it will smoke when started up.”  Seriously?! Is that good for the car?  Why don’t we just light the car on fire?  Or sell it to someone?

I did like #5, though – “Tape magnets to the bottom of a cup, put it on the roof of your car and drive around.”

www.aprilfools.com

There’s a lot of good stuff on this site.  And what else would we expect from the site with the holiday’s namesake?

Top 10 Worst April Fool’s Day Hoaxes of All Time

In the year 2000, Romanians read in the national newspaper that several prisoners were being released from prison.  60 family members went to the prison and waited (probably in the rain) for their loved ones, only to find out this was all a practical joke.  Really?!  Someone thought that was a good idea?!

African April Fool’s Day Hoaxes

I didn’t know it was celebrated here.

The Best Prank I’ve Ever Seen in Person

I would never have believed this was possible if I’d not seen it myself!  And while it is truly funny in print, it was much funnier even in person.

 


27 Comments

Filed under holidays

27 responses to “the (not so) april fool’s day mongoose

  1. These are great. I’ve been thinking and thinking all morning of a good April Fool’s joke, but they all seem like they’d either give a heart attack or get someone’s hopes up about something only to dash them cruelly on the rocks…

    But IF I had ready this BEFORE I came to work today, I might have tried # 38 in the 50 jokes to play on your friends.

    “Bring multiple sets of clothes to work, change every hour, and act like nothing’s different.” This one would have been great.

    • that really would be a funny one. especially if you started out by changing into similar clothes. and throughout the day, made the changes bigger. there’s always next year….

      and i, too, don’t like jokes that get people’s hopes up about something genuinely good — and then disappoint them greatly. that’s never a good prank, in my book. [there is a book, you know. an actual one. with all my opinions in it.]

      • Okay, so I actually just finished doing # 36 on the 50 easy pranks list.

        “Take something from someone’s office and leave them a ransom note.”

        I enlisted the help of a co-worker and we stole the chairs from our other co-workers’ offices while in a meeting. I left ransom notes from “Scarface.” 🙂 Now we wait.

        • and you’ll keep us updated on the goings on of this prank throughout the day? it could be like a realtime april fool’s special.

          • Okay, so the first co-worker came back to her desk and I heard laughing. She went to Joan’s office first (my cohort) and showed her the note and they laughed. Then she came to show me the note and I laughed and she told me the cryptic text she intended to send Will…who she thinks stole her chair and left the note. He also turned her computer screen display upside down so that further implicates him. She is now trying to figure out what to do to get him back.

          • I just got a call asking me if I stole the chair. I said I did not, that I KNEW Will had done it. She agreed. We all know Will stole the chair.

          • okay, so this is turning out to be a pretty good prank, janie. you even have someone else to blame. that’s awesome. but that poor will…

          • Well, I think my cohort gave me up. But the other coworker with the stolen chair has not returned to her office yet. She did call me and pull a big one over on me, though! So it will be a little payback. And Will may have something in store for me as well…I’m afraid to leave my computer unattended. 😉

          • aaah, retaliation pranks. let us know how the coworkers got you back.

          • SO, one co-worker called me and told me the other was quitting and I totally believed her. She got me good. She did the same to the other co-worker about me. ha! I was eventually found out, but they loved it and kept their ransom notes. Will never got me…but that doesn’t mean he won’t.

          • sounds like you guys have a fun office. it’s nice having a little jokester community…

    • Dear Jane Reneau,
      When I first looked at your post, it registered Janet Reno–and I had to look at it again. Anyway, that sounds hilarious! I really did laugh-out-loud.

      And Brett, you’re having fun today, aren’t you? I can almost feel your energy when I read the post. I mentioned you in a post today. Don’t worry, I didn’t send the mafia to your house (or hut or whatever it is you live in). I was doing a post about all the people I’ve met on wordpress and mentioned you. I was participating in “5 minute friday”.

      • house. a regular house — except with concrete floors and no air conditioning (and often no water or electricity). but it’ a nice house. thanks for not sending the mafia to it.

        • You’re welcome. I hope it’s not too hot there. I had been wondering if they had houses there or if everyone was forced to live in huts.
          I lived in the Middle East for about a year, when I was a kid-my dad worked for Bell Helicopter and he and others were helping them start a business. We had to live without electricity every night and sometimes, without water at night because the natives turned it off to let us know that they didn’t like us. I feel for you–but I learned that electricity is not a necessity–it’s a luxury.

          • the temperature here is actually really nice a lot of days. sometimes it’s a little on the hot side. but nothing like the middle east, i’m sure. no comparison. electricity is indeed a luxury. but i still think of it kind of like a necessity, to be honest — i have a pretty bad attitude when our electricity is out… and it’s been a lot lately.

  2. not the most appropriate links on the side of that 50 pranks site. Those 10 pranks gone wrong were hard to read.

    • i didn’t look at the links. but i apologize for linking to such a page — though i have no plans of going to look at what links i accidentally linked others to.

      the pranks gone wrong really were hard to read. feel bad for some people…

  3. MaeMae

    I can’t believe you didn’t think the best prank was the one you, Brian and Jackson pulled (literally).

    • that was definitely one of the top 5 overall pranks i’ve ever done. and it was in the the top 3 in terms of funniest. but i think the mongoose beat it hands down…

      i may write about it someday, though.

      [everyone, this is my mom, by the way!]

  4. Daniel

    The “best prank you’ve seen in person” link takes me to a Webster definition of “fool” site.

  5. I must be gullible. Someone ALWAYS gets me on April Fools Day.

    • but i’m not sure why some people are so proud of not being gotten. if you’re tricked by someone, it could mean you’re really gullible. but it could also mean you trust — and have faith in — other people.

  6. Daniel

    but you said you don’t like pulling pranks that builds someone’s hopes up just to dash them……

  7. Angela Braach

    Is Caleb still speaking to you? I absolutely would have had a heart attack if someone had lured a mongoose to my room and locked the door. I’m getting nervous just thinking about it!

Leave a Reply

