brett’s morning blend (06apr11)

Our mission team spent the last five days with Dale and Vicki Hawley, who are working in conjunction with Missions Resource Network out of Texas.  We talked a lot about team dynamics, core values, decision-making, and how our various ministries serve the whole of our strategy.  It was really good, and we’ve loved having the Hawleys with us.  They said our team’s greatest strength just might be our cooking.

Quotes on Missions

A list of a couple of dozen.  Example: “No one has the right to hear the gospel twice, while there remains someone who has not heard it once.” – Oswald J. Smith.

And if you like those, you might enjoy a few I posted a while back, with commentary: a few good words on mission.

The Path to an Affair

I’m not sure if you’ve ever heard of the website, RefineUs.  Justin and Trisha Davis deal with all matters of marriage, faithfulness, forgiveness, and reconciliation.  In this post Justin shares the path to an affair and it’s worth considering — whether or not you think it could ever happen to you (hey, that’s number one on the list).  This site is a great tool for strengthening your marriage.

How to Have a Rational Discussion

I wouldn’t be quite so quick to terminate discussions, but other than that they’re pretty spot on with this infographic-type flow chart.

Which Countries Officially Do Not Use the Metric System?

You may not be prepared for how few of them there are.

The Three Little Piggy Sandwich

The guys over at “Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me” try a new sandwich.  Among other ingredients, the Three Little Piggy contains double smoked ham, breaded pork tenderloin, and bacon.  Anthony Bourdain said it’s the greatest sandwich in America.  I agree with him.  I’ve not yet tasted it, but I agree with him.

Pee and Social Media

I suppose you could use any analogy to explain social media.  Urine included.  I have no idea what “Foursquare” and “Quora” are, and I don’t use any of these six forms of social media.  But now I at least understand them all.


 

7 Comments

Filed under morning blend

7 responses to “brett’s morning blend (06apr11)

  1. Haha…I saw your last link and it brought to mind an Adam Sandler classic!!

  2. A few months ago, an online acquaintance asked to have a public discussion with me following the above rules. After some soul-searching, I declined. And I do not like the assumptions that flowchart makes. Here are a few reasons:

    1. It prioritizes ideas over people.
    2. It prioritizes cleverness over truth.
    3. It prioritizes argument against another person over understanding of that person.

    Here are the questions I would like to be answered before engaging in a conversation:

    1. Do I value this person over the ideas they express?
    2. Does this person value me over the ideas I express?
    3. Do both of us believe it to be possible that the truth can be defended with poor arguments?
    4. Do both of us believe it to be possible that lies can be defended with brilliant arguments?
    5. Do I wish to understand this person more than I wish for this person to agree with me?
    6. Does this person wish to understand me more than they wish for me to agree with them?

    If all six questions can be answered “Yes,” then we have the foundation for a REALLY productive conversation. If any of the answers are “No,” then there’s a good chance it’ll get bogged down.

    • hargrave, your reasons #1 and #3 sound very african. wait — you grew up here. [not that these aren’t also christian principles…] your six questions sound like pretty good ones to ask. another important thing for me to know is whether the other individual can disassociate himself from his ideas. meaning, if i find his ideas lacking or bankrupt even, can he take this as something other than me believing he himself is lacking or foolish?

      • Yes, when Christian values coincide with African values (pretty often) that makes me happy enough.

        Your additional question is important. I think mine cover the reverse (can I dissociate him from his ideas, and can he dissociate me from mine?), but don’t include the important step that we each acknowledge that the other can value us even while criticizing our ideas.

  3. three countries that don’t use the metric system. wow.

    the pee one was quite funny, though truth be told I’m not familiar with all of them so the joke was semi-lost on me.

    • yeah, i really don’t understand why we don’t make the switch to metric. it just makes so much more sense…

      • No, the Imperial system is a lot more intuitive. Metric was invented by mathematicians for mathematical uses. So of course it’s easier to work with on paper. But in inch is a more basic, useful amount of distance than a centimeter. The metric system has no equivalent to a foot, and there are so many freaking things in human life that are about a foot long! (for heavens’ sakes, can you imagine ordering a 30cm sub sandwich?) Miles are a byproduct of furlongs– the length of a furrow, which is much easier to visualize than, say, 250 metres.

        And don’t get me started on pounds v kilos, or teaspoons v millilitres.

        The metric system is the most ungainly and awkward system of measurement in the world. It is the only system which was developed outside of any culture, rather than growing organically to fit the needs of that culture. It’s great for math, but lousy for day-to-day life.

        (The UK doesn’t exclusively use the metric system, btw. They measure distance in miles and weight in stones. I believe Ireland does the same)

Leave a Reply

