brett’s morning blend (09jun11)

Playing  Tennis With Augustine

Nathan Bierma explains the difference between being “free to” and being “free from,” and why that difference is important to Christians.

Salvation, Archie Marshall, and Larry Brown

An analogy of salvation from a basketball story (and a true one at that).

Why I Don’t Tithe

I always enjoy what Brant Hansen has to say.  And he, like me, does not tithe.  Here, he explains why.  Why he doesn’t tithe, that is — he doesn’t list my own reasons, the chiefest of which is that tithing is how the government gets your name and information for jury duty.

Understanding Congress’s Solution to the Federal Deficit Problem

“We have a family that is spending $38,200 per year. The family’s income is $21,700 per year. The family adds $16,500 in credit card debt every year in order to pay its bills. After a long and difficult debate among family members, keeping in mind that it was not going to be possible to borrow $16,500 every year forever, the parents and children agreed that a $380/year premium cable subscription could be terminated. So now the family will have to borrow only $16,120 per year.”

Bacon Cologne

If you’re looking for the perfect Father’s Day gift, you need look no longer.

15 Examples of First World Problems

A funny little photo essay to remind us how blessed we are — okay, maybe that wasn’t the author’s purpose.  But it should remind you of how blessed you are.  Though, to be completely honest, some of the list just makes me miss the U.S. all the more.  Like…

    • “I took such a long shower this morning that the hot water ran out.” 
    • “My local deli sliced my meat at 1 rather than 1/2, and now my sandwiches are too tall.”

Idiotisms and Proverbs

Mark Twain called this book perfect.  English As She Is Spoke was an accidental comedy masterpiece.  It was intended to be an English phrase book, but was translated using a Portuguese to French text and then a French to English one.  The end result is quite funny.

The Best Page In the Universe

An entire blog devoted to being a satire of “creative” photography.  It’s no longer being updated, but is easily good for a couple of laughs.

Art Project

Powered by Google, this site’s pretty impressive.  Especially if you enjoy walking through art museums.

5 Comments

Filed under morning blend

5 responses to “brett’s morning blend (09jun11)

  1. I sure hope my wife or kids don’t read this. I don’t want any bacon cologne. I would be in a perpetual state of “barfness.”

  2. Great Blend! And I really like the article of Brant’s. This is something I think about a lot because I believe the giving spirit is important, but I never really liked the rote weekly giving just because it was something I was supposed to do. I’ve always wanted to give with purpose, but was sort of torn but not torn but torn. I want to do the right thing but I’m not always sure exactly what that is. And I don’t think Brant’s article just cleared it all up, but I liked what he had to say about it and agreed with much of it.

Leave a Reply

