brett’s morning blend (21july11)

You’ll need just a cup of coffee and a couple of minutes to peruse this miscellaneous gathering of internet offerings.  

Pawn to King 4

I don’t play chess.  But I do understand the analogy.  And I appreciate it a great deal.  Theology begins with a certain set of premises.  And we build on these assumptions in order to come to the conclusions which we hold.  But what happens when my assumptions are not the same as yours?  Well, interesting and productive disagreement, that’s what.  Some of my favorite discussions are those in which I begin to understand a new set of premises, and I witness the application of an internal logic other than my own.  That’s why I enjoy so much my conversations with “James the Orthodox Missionary.”  And why I sometimes like to argue with Carson about the latest Rob Bell controversy.  Because I’m learning something.

Real Men Get Their Facts Straight

I’ve never seen these public service announcements — believe it or not, African television executives aren’t trying to raise public awareness concerning child sex slavery in the United States.  But apparently Ashton Kutcher and company offer statistics that between 100,000 and 300,000 children are forced into prostitution each year in the U.S.A.  The actual number, though, seems to be somewhere around 1,000.  Eh, but what good is truth when you’re tugging at heartstrings.

Let’s Get Rid of π

…Or at least multiply him by two and let him keep his name.  It’s just that 2π is so much more useful than π.  I mean who doesn’t prefer radii to diameters?

Evolution of the Map of Africa

A bunch of maps of Africa throughout history.  We’ve learned a lot about Africa and geography (and combustion engines, but those don’t have anything to do with this link) in the last 500 years.   Still, I’m surprised at how well they drew the dark continent in the 1500’s.  

Take a Look, It’s In a Book…

You want to know what LeVar Burton’s been up to, don’t you?  Welcome to the club.  We all do.

Correlated.org

Every day a new correlation.  Not causation, mind you, but correlation.  Like for instance… did you know that “75 percent of people who have cheated on someone have also smoked marijuana,” while only 51 percent of the general public has.  Or this:  “90 percent of people who prefer to use a search engine other than Google describe themselves as introverts, compared with 68 percent of people in general.”  Yeah, interesting site.

Bacon Prices Going Up

Apparently the price of bacon is expected to surge this summer, which seems to me to be a good sign that the U.S. economy is self-correcting.  I mean in any world where folks grasp the worth of a dollar, bacon should be much more expensive than gold.  After cooking.  The bacon, not the gold.

Deep Fried Kool-Aid

All I have to say is that I’m from south Alabama… and I’ve never heard of this.  People, we fry our sweet tea before we drink it.  But never have I heard of deep fried Kool-Aid (or Kool-Aid that was fried to any extent at all for that matter).  Ever.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under morning blend

Leave a Reply

