an ounce of mother worth a pound of clergy

This is a repost from 2010.


My mother has been the greatest picture of selflessness and sacrifice in my life.
 Sometimes people think being a missionary in Africa involves a lot of sacrifice –but I’ve got nothing on my mom.  From the time I was 13, she raised three of us on her own, while working full-time and going back to school.  Mom graduated from college with degrees in business administration and accounting the same year I graduated high school.  And she did so with a 4.0.

But more than that, my mother raised us to have faith in Jesus Christ, and to be committed fully to him.  As the Spanish proverb says,

An ounce of mother is worth a pound of clergy.

Mom, I hope you have a very special day today.  I’m sorry I can’t be there to celebrate it with you.  Thank you for all you’ve done to bring me into the faith in which I now rest — and for teaching me how to sacrifice myself for others.  I love you.

A lot of people have said a lot of nice things about mothers.  Below are some of my favorites:

  • mother is a person who, seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces she never did care for pie. –Tenneva Jordan
  • Sweater, n.:  garment worn by child when its mother is feeling chilly. –Ambrose Bierce
  • The phrase “working mother” is redundant. –Jane Sellman
  • Women’s Liberation is just a lot of foolishness.  It’s the men who are discriminated against.  They can’t bear children.  And no one’s likely to do anything about that. –Golda Meir
  • Whatever else is unsure in this stinking dunghill of a world a mother’s love is not. –James Joyce
  • A suburban mother’s role is to deliver children obstetrically once, and by car forever after. –Peter De Vries
  • A man loves his sweetheart the most, his wife the best, but his mother the longest. –Irish Proverb
  • God could not be everywhere, so he created mothers. –Jewish Proverb

May God bless our mothers.  He surely knows how they’ve blessed us.

Leave a comment

Filed under family, holidays

Leave a Reply

